USGS Mendenhall Fellowship


Brook_troutI’m excited to share that I received the USGS Mendenhall Postdoctoral Fellowship!!! I will be based at the USGS S.O. Conte Anadromous Fish Research Lab in Turners Falls, MA. It actually doesn’t change my research too much as it was a proposal to work with the same collaborators that I have been working with as a UMass postdoc. I will still spend some time at the Northeast Climate Science Center. My research will focus on modeling climate change effects on brook trout and stream salamander populations in headwater streams. The research will contribute to a structured decision making process and to an online decision support system for land managers, agency biologists, and policy makers.

In the spirit of open science, you can read my full proposal for the fellowship (Mendenhall-Proposal-Hocking). The research has already changed a bit as I find data and model limitations, but the general themes and goals are still relevant. I’ve benefited from reading proposals that other people have shared, so I thought it was time to share some of mine.

Now that I am officially a federal employee, I should acknowledge that all content and opinions on this website are strictly my own and do not reflect the opinions or positions of the U.S. government.

4 thoughts on “USGS Mendenhall Fellowship

    • Thanks Ethan! I’m very excited about the position and the associated opportunities. Plus I’m getting to work with some really great people. Right now I’m away from my family during the week which is hard, but hopefully it pays off in the long run.

    • Thanks Kate. It is a bit scary sharing ideas openly this early in the process but I hope the benefits (for me and others) outweighs any negatives. I’ve definitely found it useful when others share proposals. I find them more challenging (and frustrating) than any other part of the scientific process, but it’s a vital part so we can only try to get better.

Leave a Reply

