R Workflow



When working with R you end up using a large number of datasets, packages, functions, objects, output files, workspaces, etc.  It can get a bit overwhelming trying to keep everything organized.  That is why a consistent, well-organized workflow is needed.  I definitely do not have one yet.  I’ll post more on script editors and IDEs another time but for now I just wanted to share this video on R Workflow that includes Eclipse, Sweave, LaTeX, and R.

http://www.vcasmo.com/video/drewconway/10362

Good luck and feel free to comment with any personal experiences or suggestions.

About Daniel Hocking

I am a post-doctoral researcher at the UMass-Amherst. I am interested in the use of statistical models in ecology and population biology.

Posted on December 8, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Workflow is something I haven't even considered yet. Let me know what you find works and is intuitive.

  2. @Bill – will do. I definitely haven't gotten a smooth, efficient workflow down yet. To complicate matters I sometimes run are on my Mac and sometimes run R in Windows via VMWare Fusion (if I need to run WinBUGS or the lme4 package).

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

